The Order of the Day
Price : £12.99 & postage in UK £2.50 (or free collection)
Availability : Can be ordered in

Published Date :
Published By Picador
ISBN : 9781509889969
Category : Fiction
Format : Hardback
Add To Basket

 

A thoroughly gripping and mesmerising work of black comedy and political disaster. It seems designed single-mindedly to remind us that, as it says, “Great catastrophes often creep up on us in tiny steps. (Guardian)

Remarkable . . . It captures the bizarre blend of wishful thinking, clownish self-importance, and cold calculation that characterized many of the Nazis’ powerful enablers. (New Yorker)

Gripping . . . The method of [The Order of the Day] is to peel away the veils of dissimulation, disguise and self-justification that conspire to make historical disasters appear as just the way things happen. (Wall Street Journal)

A chilling, gripping novel – it takes a number of key moments in the run-up to the Second World War and uses tremendous skill and verve to dramatize hours and minutes in which often quite ordinary men took decisions that would destroy whole nations. (Simon Winder, author of Germania)

Offering us a seat at the jolly lunches and country retreats where a handful of men condemned their nations to unthinkable slaughter, The Order of the Day is a powerful warning that cowardice saves no one, not even the coward. (Alex Christofi, author of Glass)

Beautifully and economically crafted . . . The Order of the Day is a stark examination of the price of silence, the cost of sticking to the rules to keep the peace, and the human toll when ruling elites not only go along to get along, but support the ravings of a violent and vengeful leader. (Millions)

A book whose staggering power lies in its simplicity. (Le Monde)

A powerful story you read in one go, with astonishment and dread. (La Presse)

Just brilliant. [ . . . ] Vuillard shows what literature is capable of in its moments of greatness: a lightning-like transformation of a tired, old, and far too often told story into a shocking new narrative. (Der Spiegel)

Brief and striking . . . history behind the scenes. (L'Express)

A gripping and compelling fictional account of the key meetings and events which led up to the outbreak of World War Two: how egos flourished, diplomacy failed, and a few powerful men brought Europe to the brink of disaster. For fans of HHhH and To Die in Spring.

 



Open An Account

You can help to secure the future of radical bookselling by opening a Bookmarks Account.

We ask that you pay in a minimum of £10 a month by Standing Order which you can then spend on books at any time.

We will also give you 10% off all books or free postage anywhere in the UK.

Click Here

Merchandise

We sell much more than books, check out our posters, mugs and other stuff here

Bookmarks Publishing

Browse here for books from Bookmarks Publications and Redwords.

Bookmarks has been publishing books for over 40 years. Every year we publish a selection of books and pamphlets that address the key issues facing activists and trade unionists. Many of our older publications are available from our secondhand section.

See Our Publications